PDP zoning c’ttee swaps positions between North, South - FAITH ADAMA'S BLOG

Everything Trending....

test banner

Home Top Ad

Responsive Ads Here

Wednesday, 27 July 2016

PDP zoning c’ttee swaps positions between North, South

The National Zoning Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Tuesday submitted its report to the Caretaker Committee of the party.

The committee which was inaugurated on Friday was given a week to conclude it’s work but it was able to finish in just four days.
In the report submitted by the Ebonyi State governor, David Umahi, on behalf of the 89 member committee, the northern zone which had been allotted the presidential ticket of the party for 2019, had 11 offices zoned to it while 10 slots went to the south.
Unlike in the past, no office was zoned to any specific state, as the committee noted that in the interest of fair competition, all states from the two zones can aspire to fill any position.
However, it was observed that all positions given to the north in the tenure of the last NWC were swapped with those held by the south.
The party also made provisions for two Deputy National Chairmen as against a single one in the past.
In explaining how the committee came about the zoning formula, Gov Umahi said: “The committee considered earlier zoning arrangements in the party since its inception to date, and equally examined previous happenings in the Party in respect of restrictions to equal participation of members. Consequently, it desired a paradigm shift from the unsatisfactory practices within the party’s operations.”
The committee in its report recommended that “all positions should be keenly contested for among the major zones they are zoned to in order to open the space and allow for full participation of members.
The committee stated that it had zoned the chairmanship of the party to the Southern zones “bearing in mind that the presidential ticket of the party for 2019 was zoned to the Northern zones as approved by the National Convention in Port Harcourt, Rivers State, on Saturday, May 21, 2016.”
The positions zoned to the Northern Zones are Deputy National Chairman 2; National Secretary; National Financial Secretary; National Publicity Secretary; National Auditor; National Woman Leader; Deputy National Treasurer; Deputy National Organizing Secretary; Deputy National Youth Leader; Deputy National Legal Adviser and Deputy National Secretary.
Positions zoned to the Southern Zones are National Chairman; Deputy National Chairman 1; National Treasurer; National Legal Adviser; National Youth Leader; National Organizing Secretary; Deputy National Publicity Secretary; Deputy National Woman Leader; Deputy National Auditor and Deputy National Financial Secretary.

No comments:

Post a Comment